Am I brave enough to do this?

So following on my post from July, there are a few developments:
– I have paid off my student loan (I talked to a mortgage adviser and this was basically #1 on the ‘get a house’ to do list) – which is great!
– I have started a study to become a VA. Yes, you read it correctly, a virtual assistant. It’s a solid plan: being self-employed means I can work from anywhere, while determining my own hours, my own vacations and my own rules. If I keep having Dutch clients, I think I’ll still fall under Dutch laws and insurance and am not subject to the horrible rules in the US.

But Oh. My. God. I’m terrified. I truly am. I’ve never wanted my own company (NEVER) and was always terrified about the consequences that entailed; not having the security of a steady income, not falling under unions or normal labor laws, having to figure everything out yourself or having to hire someone to help you figure it out because it’s all so complicated – the taxes alone!

And now I’m about to jump into the deep end. And I know I can do the job, I have no doubt about that. But do I *dare* to? Do I dare let go of the safety and security I’ve had in this job for nearly 8 years and just…jump off a cliff? I know that whatever happens will teach me a lot and I’ll grow from it, but jeebus it terrifies me. My comfort zone is so incredibly comfortable, especially in this crazy world. I am taken care of, supported, appreciated. And I’m going to give all that up.

I’m so scared. So scared.

About charmedsue

Hi! A quick warning: I have no exciting stories to tell or incredible talents to display. I’ve created this blog to post things on when I have no one else to talk to about them, and to use as a bit of an archive for myself (I'm no good at keeping diaries). So there won't be any structure or aim...kind of like my life! :D If that’s all okay with you, then welcome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment